LinkedIn now defaults to blocking other users from exporting your email address as TechCrunch reports. The purpose is to reduce spam and protect users’ privacy. The launch of this new setting without warning could annoy users who have invested lots of time into the professional networking site in hopes of contacting their connections outside of it.

On TechCrunch, one user comment states:

The real reason for this has nothing to do with privacy. It’s about selling premium subscriptions and forcing everyone to default to communicating on-network to maximize ad exposure. They are also doing this to block third party apps that pull emails off network.

LinkedIn users can control their own email address export setting

LinkedIn provides an option allowing the email address export under Settings > Privacy > Who can see my email address.

Until now, downloading your complete network / connection data was possible by clicking:

  1. My Network
  2. Your Connections number / See all
  3. Manage Synced and Imported Contacts
  4. Advanced
  5. Export Contacts

After completing these steps, it takes some minutes and you get an email when your exported LinkedIn Data is ready.

We have carried out the export test and can confirm: The downloaded LinkedIn CSV file does not contain any e-mail addresses.

With this feature, it is also possible to download

  • The works: your individual files
  • Articles
  • Imported Contacts
  • Messages
  • Invitations
  • Profile
  • Recommendations
  • Registration

LinkedIn is testing Snapchat-like “Stories”

Another recent LinkedIn development is that the Business Network is testing “Stories”. These slideshows we already know from Snapchat, Instagram and Facebook might now also becoming common on LinkedIn. LinkedIn confirmed to that it plans to roll out Stories for more users, but first it is launching “Student Voices” just for university students in the U.S.

TechCrunch reports:

The feature appears atop the LinkedIn home screen and lets students post short videos to their Campus Playlist. The videos (no photos allowed) disappear from the playlist after a week while staying permanently visible on a user’s own profile in the Recent Activity section. Students can tap through their school’s own slideshow and watch the Campus Playlists of nearby universities.